Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Kawkawa Lake Fishing Help.  (Read 7993 times)

Humpy

Kawkawa Lake Fishing Help.
« on: July 04, 2013, 05:23:16 PM »

Hi, I am planning on going camping/fishing on Kawkawa lake next week. I know it is famous for its kokanee fishery and krill is the best bait. I have a 5-6 ft Daiwa rod and reel with 10 lb main, is that good enough for the kokanee. I also have a 12 ft boat and motor, would that work? How do I bottom fish? I read Rodney's "Fishing Techniques" for this lake but I don't really understand them because I am new to lake fishing. How do I attach this sliding weight? Where do I get this weight from? How does it look like, a link would be helpful. Any help is appreciated.

"A small sliding weight around 0.5oz is threaded onto the main line, which is tied onto a swivel. At the other end of the swivel, tie a 2ft long 4lb test leader, followed by a size 4 or 6 hook. Cast your rig out and let it sink to the bottom." From Rodney's Fishing Techniques for Kawkawa Lake.
Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught.

JackFunk

• Miskatonic U. Alumnus
Re: Kawkawa Lake Fishing Help.
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2013, 05:38:18 PM »

10lb main might be a little heavy but would work. Also what weight rating is your rod? Usually want something in the lighter ranges with some flex, the kokes aren't too big, and also have a soft mouth.

The setup that Rod mentions is commonly called a 'Carolina Rig'.  Google it up and will find tons to read, it's popular with Bass fishermen. I use it quite often ocean fishing off the piers around the Lower Mainland.

Humpy

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2013, 05:48:18 PM »

Would that rig work for Kawkawa Lake? The rod is 7ft medium action, Lure: 1/4-3/4 oz. Line 6-14lb. I think the line I have on is 8lb Flurocarbon. Where do I find this weight?

JackFunk

• Miskatonic U. Alumnus