Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: I don't want to fish the Vedder!!!  (Read 9205 times)

frenchy

I don't want to fish the Vedder!!!
« on: January 27, 2006, 07:08:46 PM »

Hi Guys,

I am new in BC. I come from France (that is why there will  have tons of mistakes in my message, sorry about that) and will stay here at least two years. I went fishing the Vedder for steelhead a couple of time. The river is very nice and it seems that there is a lot of fish, but it is so crowed... it is very frustrating to fish there. You arrive at dawn and if you are lucky you are the first guy to fish one spot and then for the rest of the day you fish where at least 10 guys already fished. Giving that most of these guys fish the vedder for years, I really think I have almost no chance to catch a fish  :-\. Moreover, when I go fishing, I really like to see almost nobody  ;). So I would like to fish another river, not necessarily for steelhead (I never caught one, so i am not an addict  ;D). Bull trout and dolly would satisfy me.
For me a good day fishing include scenic view, peaceful and good chance of catching one or two fish by day.
Do you have any suggestion? What about the Squamish? I heard it is beautiful.

Thanks a lot

Frenchy

steelieman

• Fish On!!!!
Re: I don't want to fish the Vedder!!!
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2006, 07:40:15 PM »

The Vedder is a huge river. You do not have to fish with the crowd. Walk to another spot if you do not like the crowd.

troutbreath

• Old Timer
  • I does Christy
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2006, 07:40:43 PM »

Read some of the posts and the info about the fish your after on this site. There are lots of places to fish without big crowds, and if your willing to walk a bit you leave most behind. Or get to the Vedder at the hot spots at 3 a.m. and mark off your turf and stand tight, defend your ground.
another SLICE of dirty fish perhaps?