Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Depths for Floats  (Read 4107 times)

Carich980

Depths for Floats
« on: April 05, 2011, 12:12:28 AM »

Hey guys,

I'm new to River fishing and I'm trying to catch my first Steelhead on the Vedder. I've been out 4 times so far with my fly rod but am failing miserably with it so Ive decided to try with float and a pink worm set up on my river rod instead. Ive seen Fish surface near me twice but I haven't had a bite at all.

How do you know what depth to set the float at? I've tried different depths but seem to either get too much bottom and get hung up a lot or don't feel the bottom at all. I'm using about 20 inches of leader from the weight. When I cast this float set up am I better to cast more downstream then upstream or does it matter?

I was out today in the rain and I'm gonna try again tomorrow in the rain again below the train bridge.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
Re: Depths for Floats
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 12:34:49 AM »

I like my lure 12-18" off the bottom. First find bottom (your float will lie flat in the water), then move your float down 12-18". I like casting my rig slightly upstream and let it drift downstream

BigFisher

• Old Timer
  • Bite My Hook
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2011, 06:44:54 AM »

Your doing everything right, Just keep moving down river. Switch up and fish something different back up river. Keep in mind they will sit at your feet in these current conditions.
The Bigger The Better!

bigblue

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2011, 10:59:39 AM »

Might also be good idea to rotate between pink worm and artificial eggs with little bit of yarn on top as pink worm is more of an impact bait.